PDA

View Full Version : Sea cucumber got shreaded in powerhead

s.holmes
10-21-2013, 06:41 PM
Hey guys, i am new to all of this. I have a 25 gallon reef tank.2 days ago i went to my LFS. And not knowing much about sea cucmbers i bought a orange one because it was super cool.... But what wasnt super cool was how the next night it got sucked up in my powerhead and poisioned my tank. When i woke up all my fish had died and my corals were not happy. I did a 70% water change yesterday and im running carbon right now. Everything is looking good again today. but just wondering if anyone else has had a experence like this and how long did u wait to add fish again? thanks for your replies in adance :).

teemee
10-21-2013, 09:47 PM
Fingers crossed for you. My cucumber nuked my tank!
Never again...
That said, lots of people have them without problems...

lemon604
10-21-2013, 09:55 PM
I had thesame problem before and it took me months and several water changes before I can put a fish. Start with a cheap one first like dampsel before putting an expensive one. Don't even try shrimps until you are sure it is ok or it will just die right on contact with the water.

Din Gior
10-21-2013, 10:45 PM
I'd probably add bag of carbon to remove remaining toxins from the water.

mrhasan
10-21-2013, 10:50 PM
I had thesame problem before and it took me months and several water changes before I can put a fish. Start with a cheap one first like dampsel before putting an expensive one. Don't even try shrimps until you are sure it is ok or it will just die right on contact with the water.

Damsels ?! :neutral: That's probably the worst fish to put in a 25 gallon tank (and the best if that's the best first and last fish to be added in the tank). And I would choose a "hardy" fish over a "cheap" fish; life shouldn't be thrown away depending on the price tag....

Magickiwi
10-21-2013, 11:03 PM