PDA

View Full Version : Nitrates,water changes,RO

pegrochilakila
10-10-2013, 10:19 PM
Hi everybody im new in this hobby i been in the reef hobby for 1 year or so.
My tank is a 55 gallon some corals and fish, what i have is a yellow tang blue tang two clowns 1 blue chromis cardinal diamond goby, zoas polys and mush and a bunch of hermit, i think the already reach the point of get out of this hobby, because my battle against nitrates is a never ending situation, i did all ideas possibles, i start with the sump, wich has just live rock, then i get a RO/DI machine cus my "water" was the problem, i did 5 gallon water change every 2 days but i couldnt make them lower, cleaning removing green algae cleaning my sand bed etc etc etc, im really happy for all those guys that control their nitrates just with water changes, for me didnt work.-
all my water paramathers are good ammo nitri ph etc etc just the nitrates 20-40 i cant do nothing to lower them :sad:
Im kinda giving up but if somebody has some ideas maybe i still can walk the xtra mile
Thanks to all of you guys

Din Gior
10-10-2013, 10:47 PM
Your nitrates are not that high for zoas, mushrooms and fish unless you want to add some sps corals. You can try to reduce amount of food, add skimmer if you don't have one, add refugium, add nitrate reactor, vodka/vinegar dosing.

Cal_stir
10-10-2013, 11:07 PM
the algae is a nutrient problem not a nitrate problem, high phosphates causes algae problems.

pegrochilakila
10-10-2013, 11:22 PM
well i want add som sps but i know they will be gone in matter of days, already have HOB skimmer for 100 gallon max. Talking about my phos are in the right number 8.0 i dont think that phos can b an issue ?

neoh
10-10-2013, 11:28 PM