PDA

View Full Version : Newbie with a Nano

Jessie
10-03-2013, 04:14 AM
I thought I'd stop creepin' the boards and introduce myself, I am brand new to saltwater...and to be more honest, I'm brand new to having an aquarium of any kind. I do have pond experience w/goldies but that is very limited at best.
So, I'm on day 2 of cycling my 29g tank w/live rock. I am using a Fluval 305 canister pump and have a Maxspect Razor 60W 10000k. I am still searching for a hob skimmer (really want a low profile one) and haven't installed any power heads yet. How am I doing so far? Sounds like I might know a thing or too but it's all a façade. I took a look in my tank tonight and low and behold something is growing!!! I can't tell you how excited (and frankly proud of myself) I was - I thought "look at me, day 2 and I'm already growing something!"...turns out I'm growing aiptasia...and had it not been for canreef I may have continued in blissful ignorance as my tank dandelions multiplied lol. Anyway, went to the drug store and had the awkward conversation about needing a needle to hunt anemone (just in case asking for a needle wasn't suspect enough) - I made sure to bring a picture of my nemesis just in case I needed proof (which I did). Got home, and proceeded with my hunt; took a couple full syringes of lemon juice but I think I may have gotten them. I'll find out tomorrow. So, thank you Canreef posters for helping out this newbie with a nano (though to me, my tank is a monstrosity), I'm sure I will be seeking more advice along the way.

kien
10-03-2013, 04:18 AM
Sounds like you are well on your way! And welcome to The Canreef :-)

Dearth
10-03-2013, 05:14 AM
Welcome to Canreef and good start.

Once your done cycling your tank you might want to throw a couple of peppermint shrimp in because no matter how hard you hunt out the aptasia you will never get it all it might take them awhile to do it but the shrimp will eventually eat all your aptasia up.