PDA

View Full Version : Doeseing kalk

bear27
06-29-2004, 01:21 AM
Im new to kalkwasser and am fairly uncertin on how to do it properly. I have read most of the information out there on it but when i try to aply it i flop. i can never seem to get my ca and alk levels up there always low 360 ppm 6 dkh. My guess is ive never put in enouf kalk to get them up in fear of my ph swing. So ive tried something new that im not sure if its going to work i mixed up a batch of kalk and then adjusted the ph to 8.3 useing small amounts of viniger until i got it write, This way i dont have to worry about the ph swing. I still am dripping ig slowly so i dont change the chemistry of my tank to fast but this alows me to drip day and night

What do you guys think

Gools
06-29-2004, 01:34 AM
I drip Kalk day and night. IMO vinegar is a NO!!! I've heard bad stuff about it. Anyways, Kalk only helps keep your calcium constant. You should get a two part calcium to first get your Calcium to a desired range, then drip kalk to keep it steady.

trilinearmipmap
06-29-2004, 01:41 AM
The other question I have about kalk is which kind of containers are safe to hold kalkwater solution in the long term?

My plan is to use a 20 or 30 gallon container for kalkwater to use as top-off, and refill this container every few weeks when it runs out. I read that some types of plastic are degraded by the highly alkaline kalk solution, so which containers are OK, will Rubbermaids be all right?

Gools
06-29-2004, 01:44 AM
I have a rubbermaid 10gal. Seem to work good for me, haven't had a problem yet.

Skimmerking
06-29-2004, 01:50 AM
what kalk does is keeps the PH up in the tank. around 8.2-8.4
\when mixing it 1 tsp per gal of ro-ro/di put it in a rubbermaid container of a ro jug say 5 gal
mix it up let it settle for 3-4 hours and there you have the drip the good stuff..
and with a 5 gal jug you can drip all week if you r evaporation is low ...

mike

bear27
06-29-2004, 01:55 AM
Ok heres my dilema