PDA

View Full Version : LightingQuestion

myinfo
09-02-2002, 03:53 PM
Hi:

I am new to this hobby. This may be a dumb question, under what scenerio you need a 400w MH. I currently have 1 90G with 4X48" VHO. I am thinking of upgrading it to MH. Should I use 2x250 or 2x400?
Currently I have no SPS. I plan to keep some SPS and claims after the upgrade.

I currently have 150 PD live rock, CC sand bed, the tank is 48 * 24 * 18.

Thanks

Aquattro
09-02-2002, 05:26 PM
Myinfo, you could get away fine with the 250w setup. There is enough rock that you could put the most light demanding corals/clams up high close to the rock. You also want to consider what color bulbs to use. They range from 5500k to 20,000k. They all have different looks (and prices) to them. There is no "right" bulb to use for color, it all comes down to personal preference. Do searches on lighting here and on reefcentral.com and/or reefs.org.

Canadian
09-02-2002, 06:57 PM
Just keep in mind that if your 90 has a glass center brace that placing a single MH in the center of the tank is going to result in diminished intensity unless you're willing to clean the center brace regularly. Also, the center brace often results in a shadow being cast into the tank.

Aquattro
09-02-2002, 07:26 PM
Andrew, he did mention using two bulbs. Even then, it still helps to clean the brace regularly.

Doug
09-02-2002, 08:41 PM
First, there is really nothing wrong with your vho lighting.

I used 400,s because of the high colour temp. When increasing the colour of the bulb, the wattage needs to be increased to compensate for par.

A nice option for your tank would be a pair of 250 watt Iwasaki,s. Plus a pair of vho actinics. The 65K Iwasaki in the 250 watt version is, IMO, one of the best halides. Good price, good longevity,{ I have run them for over 2 years }, and a nicer colour than the 400 watt version.