PDA

View Full Version : questions regarding feeding of softies and LPS

rickwaines
09-17-2013, 06:01 PM
Hello People of the SALT

Like any gardner I am wondering if I am giving my corals enough food. The clavularia that I have has good colour and sent out a few new polyps in the first month or so but has slowed to a stand still. I know these have a reputaion for being quick growers, almost pest like so.. what to do to get them pest like!

I have read that "They also benefit from weekly feedings of micro-plankton or foods designed for filter feeding invertebrates." What products and methods do folks use?

I have acquired a couple LPS coral. I am new to the coral thing in general but I have been reading a bit about the feeding of dendros which I think I have a handle on and some goniopora which I have learned is a little trickier to grow. I read an article in advanced aquarist though that spoke of foods that will help with these. The article said:

These include Cyclop-eeze, Hikari Frozen Rotifers, and DT's Oyster Eggs. The design of plankton-friendly systems, proper coral husbandry in terms of water conditions, and the direct feeding of these quality foods will help insure long term success.

Any suggestions regarding the food and method of feeding of these LPS would be greatly appreciated.

Rick

rickwaines
09-17-2013, 06:12 PM
I have a 40 gallon cube with the new radion, two tunze pumps, a skimmer going 24/7.
params are kh of 9, calcium 430, magnesium 1400, nitrate 0 nitrite 0 phosphate 0.

bi weekly 30% water change.

Magickiwi
09-17-2013, 06:12 PM
I use a combination of foods for my LPS corals. I use live phytoplankton, pods, reef roids, and a dried plankton mix from Two Little Fishes. I seem to get the best reaction from my LPS and anemones when I use the reef roids and live phyto.