PDA

View Full Version : Need help with sumps

FWC
09-11-2013, 07:26 AM
So I'm looking at setting up a new tank, however a sump will be needed.

I've never used a sump before, and try as I might, they still manage to confuse me.

Notably, the tank I'm interested in is the cube in this classified add :

http://www.canreef.com/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=100406&highlight=cube

So how exactly would the sump work for this tank ?? Like that would go where ??

tang daddy
09-11-2013, 08:02 AM
The thread had a few tanks, I am alittle confused which one you're referring to.

The best thing to do would be to list a size of the tank you want to start out with, next will be the stand. If your handy with a drill and chop saw then you could build a stand, for me I use 2x4 and double it up which is strong but leaves minimal space for a sump. What I am trying to get at is you have to plan this all out. How much room for a sump.

A sump can be as easy and as complitcated as you want it. I've seen sumps out of a square storage bin to CNC acrylic goodness. Again depends on budget... Mine is easy with 2 baffles.

I would suggest skimming through the tank journals reading and looking at pictures. There is lots of explanation to why and how people do what they do. If you want a sump to store equiptment it a full on refuge with pods, corals seahorses or whatever.... The world is yours!

Also I would suggest maybe starting your own journal and there are plenty of people on here willing to share knowledge and good advice to help you every. Step of the way!

SeaHorse_Fanatic
09-11-2013, 08:20 AM