PDA

View Full Version : algae

steve.bridges
06-25-2004, 06:33 PM
hi folks,
i think the shrimps have stopped shrinking, i have a few questions for all you experts out there. i'm relatively new to marine tanks and am having a few problems.

The main problem is ALGAE.

i have 3-4 types in my 45 gallon tank. Green, Red (some hair) Green hair on the back wall, red brown hair on the sand bed. Green algae on some corals!!!

My System:-

45 G tank 5 Sided 24"tall
250W m/h pendant with ballast
Magnum 350 canister filter running carbon filter
power head 400 in tank
30lbs live rock
2" live sand bed

My Livestock

40 nasarius snails
6 turbo snails
20 hermit crabs (blue, scarlet, black & white)
1 emerald crab
1 brittle star
1 starfish
1 blood shrimp
1 peppermint

2 anenomies (1 pink tipped)
1 scallop

1 yellwo wrasse
1 fake nemo
1 blue/yellow damsel
1 coral beauty
1 firefish

Corals

3 xenias
1 candy cane
1 bubble coral
1 bisma cluster
1 finger leather
1 brain
1 leather
1 branch
few others.

Ok The tank has been running about 9 months, All tests are within required ranges except a very high ph. All fish and livestock are doing well
Most corals are doing well Except:-

Green star polyp -: has not shown itself for 2-3 weeks it seemed to be healthy before this, and now has a sort of brownish algae growing over the polyp homes i have tried removing this with a turkey baster but am fighting a losing battle.

Leather (pin cushion):- only purchased this 10 days ago when i first put this in my tank it swelled to double the size all the polyps were protruding, cool.
Now they have not shown thereselves for 4 days and it has green algae growing on it( not hair just a fine covering)

Finger leather:- once again 10 dys old first put in the tank it was loving it now it looks more like an old deflated glove.

I have been testing the water and everything is fine. i had to bring the salt level down but still within limits.