PDA

View Full Version : Fraggin zoas. Do they grow faster?

SanguinesDream
09-04-2013, 11:39 PM
What say all ye great frag masters out there? Is it better to frag your zoas to promote growth or put them in an area with good flow and medium light?

Cal_stir
09-04-2013, 11:59 PM
some like it high some like it low, some like it fast some like it slow, some just wither away no matter where they stay.

mrhasan
09-05-2013, 12:11 AM
I am no zoa expert but generally, bigger corals tends to grow faster because of larger surface area.

moonyrat
09-05-2013, 12:31 AM
some like it high some like it low, some like it fast some like it slow, some just wither away no matter where they stay.
are you a poet? lol:biggrin:

spit.fire
09-05-2013, 01:00 AM
What say all ye great frag masters out there? Is it better to frag your zoas to promote growth or put them in an area with good flow and medium light?

If you have a decent sized colony I find you get the best yield if you frag the centre of the colony

reefermadness
09-05-2013, 02:18 AM
I am no zoa expert but generally, bigger corals tends to grow faster because of larger surface area.

IMO the polyp mat spreads only on the edges so if you have a large colony the polyps in the middle can not multiply further as they are already crowded. IME and logic tells me that they will grow faster if fragged. This also gives you a back up in case a colony decides to shrivel up and die for no reason (which does happen). The only down side is they look better as a large colony.

reefwars
09-05-2013, 03:16 AM
IMO the polyp mat spreads only on the edges so if you have a large colony the polyps in the middle can not multiply further as they are already crowded. IME and logic tells me that they will grow faster if fragged. This also gives you a back up in case a colony decides to shrivel up and die for no reason (which does happen). The only down side is they look better as a large colony.