PDA

View Full Version : Potassium chloride (kcl)

Proteus
08-31-2013, 05:40 PM
Being that I work in the oilfield I have access to alto of chemicals

Can I use potassium chloride aka KCL to supplement K

Dearth
08-31-2013, 06:02 PM
I'd be concerned because it is used for an industrial purpose and probably in bulk that it isn't refined enough for aquarium use and have impurities in it. I work at a pulp mill and same as you I have access to many various chemicals but am concerned because it is bulk and designed for industrial use and may not be refined enough for safe aquarium use.

Proteus
08-31-2013, 06:23 PM
True. But I imagine the stuff at drugstore should be ok

xenon
08-31-2013, 06:25 PM
We recently purchased some potassium chloride in bulk but it is lab grade.

You just need to get the chart to see how pure it actually is.

FYI: We are thinking about selling some by the kilo if you are interested.

e46er
08-31-2013, 06:26 PM
How much is every living organism worth to you? And I don't just mean $$.
Why risk it all for a savings of peanuts??

xenon
08-31-2013, 06:29 PM

The reason we bought in bulk was because we use a salt that is highly deficient in potassium and since we use so much salt in our store, the amount of 1L bottles of Fauna Marin K (potassium) we were using was ridiculous.

We also don't know the purity of the stuff we buy from these bottles so its best to source it yourself and know EXACTLY what you are getting.

Proteus
08-31-2013, 07:22 PM

Agreed. But there's a lot of dyi so why not ask. A lot of supplements are jacked up how many dollars just for a fancy label on a bottle

reefme
08-31-2013, 11:33 PM
How about potassium chloride from water softener (home use)?

Proteus
09-01-2013, 12:34 AM
How about potassium chloride from water softener (home use)?

Ill check drug store as it should be pharmaceutical grade

xenon
09-01-2013, 01:00 AM
Ill check drug store as it should be pharmaceutical grade